Journey of Light... The Early Years

Journey of Light... The Early Years

  • Lei`ohu's early years as a singer and composer are celebrated in this anthology drawn from her first three recordings:  Kukuipuka (1998), Ho`ola`a (1999), and Waiha (2000).

  • Charming song introductions and “talk story,” recorded live at the 1999 Maui County Fair, draw the listener into her world as an 8th grade school teacher and invite you to join her spiritual journey into contemporary Hawaiian culture.

  • A bonus track presents the actual birth of her song for Ulu Loa, appearing to her completely formed and presented at the completion of the Ho`ola`a recording sessions.  It was captured on a hand-held cassette recorder.  It was the nature of most of Lei`ohu's songs that words and melody would come to her instantly and urgently, their full meaning becoming clear at a later date.  Other songs were the result of her collaboration with Akoni Akana following their exploration of ancient Hawaiian sites on Maui and O`ahu; two of these collaborations are included in Journey of Light.

  • Since the early years, Lei`ohu has transitioned from school teacher to ambassador of peace and aloha, sharing her songs and inspirations on the world's stage.  The seeds of her international presence are found in these early years and recordings.

Song Samples

“Journey of Light... The Early Years” – the songs:


  1. Kukuipuka*

  2. Kahakuloa Ku

  3. Kou Aloha

  4. Te Kai Moana Nui

  5. Kaeleku

  6. Waiha

  7. La`amaomao**

  8. Wailau

  9. Kama`ule`ule

  10. Kanaio

  11. Ua Lenalena

  12. Wai`ehu`ehu

  13. Honu Ea Mele

  14. Hale Aloha o Ulu Loa

  15. Ho`ola`a

  16. Kahalawai

  17. Hale Aloha o Ulu Loa (original recording)


*composed with Akoni Akana

**Uluwehi Guerrero joins Lei`ohu in a beautiful duet.


HOME  |  Artists  | Purchase music  |  Contact