Somewhere Up Ahead
Gospel Hymns of Hawai`i Vol. II

  • Ten years have elapsed since the release of From the Valley to the Throne, Ata's beloved first collection of gospel hymns.  Somewhere Up Ahead continues his family's legacy of hymns that Ata learned in childhood under the tutelage of his mother, Gwen, and maternal grandfather, the Rev. Alfred “Papa” ChuHing.

  • Support from Ata's friends and fellow musicians – Ahumanu (Liz Morales & Joni DeMello), Kaiolohia Funes Smith, and Cody Pueo Pata – underpins and sustains Ata's glorious vocals and inspired musicianship.  The resulting mix of talent will please devotees of Hawaiian music as well as those who find inspiration in faith-based music. 

  • The CD package includes Jens Skolleborg's charming pen and ink drawings of scenic Maui churches and the story of each song as it relates to Ata and his family.

    – Jake & Laurie Rohrer, November 2010
Ata's Bio | Where to Purchase

Song Samples

Somewhere Up Ahead – the songs:
Click to read the lyrics.

  1. Iesu Ke Ali`i O Ke Ao Nei

  2. I Don't Know Why (Jesus Loves Me)

  3. Too Much to Gain to Lose

  4. Ho`omana

  5. Hele Mai/EHo`ola

  6. We Have Come this Far by Faith

  7. Ua Mau 

  8. Medley: It is No Secret/My Desire

  9. Medley: Ship Without a Sail/Room at the Cross

  10. It's In My Heart

  11. E Hilina`i

  12. When You Pray

  13. His Eye Is On the Sparrow

HOME  |  Artists  | Purchase music  |  Contact